exercise is bad for you and so are Arctic Terns

So I was training to do a 5K run for ‘Race for Life’ I was up to 3k and quite proud of myself. Slightly pathetic I know but I really hadn’t run for about 25 years. Then I sprained my ankle. I didn’t fall or twist or do something speculator or even memorable to my ankle I simply jogged slowly – very slowly. Now I will be doing a sponsored hobble.

Image

seals circled the boat

Image

The seals seemed undisturbed and quite curious

Image

One image trying to capture how densely populated the rocks are with nesting birds

Image

I was amazing close to this gull and her/his chick

Image

probably took too many puffin photos!

Image

more puffines

Image

the puffins had burrows all around the inner isle. the gulls hovered around ready to try to take the fish from the puffins when they flew in to feed their chicks

Image

my daughter spotted this puffin in their burrow.

I have also enjoyed a day trip to the Farne Isles – with thanks to  my lovely dad who arranged it. The Farne Islands are a group of Islands off the Northumbria coast near Seahouses. They are protected because of the wildlife in particular birds. On the day we went we saw  Guillemots, Puffins, Cormorants, Razerbills, Eider ducks, alongside a seal colony. My girls loved the puffins best – whats not to love they are super cute! We all got dive bombed by the Arctic Terns who were protecting their nest sites. They were quite painful and unrelenting. Although I can’t blame them as we were walking in their territory. Heres a few pictures I took on that day.

Image

A razorbill

Image

A cormorant

Image

one of the Arctic terns – probably could have got a better shot but it was too painful to stand about for long!

s

22 thoughts on “exercise is bad for you and so are Arctic Terns

  1. Ah no – injuries are the worst! I just (I mean yesterday) just restarted training again…four miles of huff and puff. Rest up, and you’ll be back on the road in no time!

  2. Ah no – injuries are the worst! I just (I mean yesterday) just restarted training again…four miles of huff and puff. Rest up, and you’ll be back on the road in no time!

  3. Great shots, cool birds! I would love to see some puffins one day.
    Running is hard, and easy to injure yourself, so keep at it slowly! I’m easing back into it after I tried too much too soon last time.

Leave a Reply

Da UNDERCARD

Bringing you the best of the underdogs in Hip Hop, and NYC culture.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Alina Sighete

Colours of Life

Earthniversity

Know earth, know life.

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

artgland

the secretion of art by Rhian Ferrer

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

behindtheglamorsblog

This World Is Not Perfect Like You Still Imagine

Digital Dimensions

Blog about anything related to blogging

Florida Gamers

official website for the Florida Gamers

Franklin Photography

Franklin Photography - Pretoria, South Africa

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

The Guilty Preacher Man

abandoned illustrations

Pierrick Ferjani

MY VISION OF THE WORLD

marcelo léonard

Fleeting photography

oddities, curiosities and other such things

welcome to my little corner of the internet. stop by and say hello.

grishmanphotography

World through my eyes in colour and black&white

greenreadsleeds

Reading to 'think green' - a blog to support the Green Reads group in Headingley, Leeds

Baking as Therapy

Recipes, musings and ideas- plus ' how to' tutorials

